Andrews unveils new cabinet after swearing-in

nid), array('absolute' => TRUE)); $title = $entity->title; ?>

Daniel Andrews has been officially sworn in as the 48th Premier of Victoria during a ceremony at Government House.


Mr Andrews, who led Labor to victory at Satuday's state election with a swing to party of 2.6 per cent, also unveiled his first cabinet. One noticeable highlight was the nine women sworn in as ministers, with many given prominent portfolios including health, public transport, employment and the new prevention of family violence role.


Mr Andrews said his team would “make Victoria stronger, fairer and better”.


“We’ve matched experience with fresh ideas and we’re hitting the ground running."


He said the new government would begin work on a raft of election promises including ending the paramedics pay dispute, removing level crossings and funding TAFE.


The new Labor cabinet looks like this:


Daniel Andrews: Premier

James Merlino: Deputy Premier / Education

Gavin Jennings: Special Minister of State / Leader of Government in the Legislative Council

Jaala Pulford: Agriculture and Regional Development / Deputy Leader of Government in Legislative Council

Tim Pallas: Treasurer

Jacinta Allan: Public Transport / Employment

Lily D'Ambrosio: Industry / Energy and Resources

Luke Donnellan: Roads and Road Safety / Ports

John Eren: Sport / Tourism and Major Events / Veterans

Martin Foley: Housing / Disability and Ageing / Mental Health / Equality / Creative Industries

Jane Garrett: Emergency Services / Consumer Affairs / Gaming and Liquor Regulation

Jill Hennessy: Health / Ambulance Services

Steven Herbert: Training and Skills

Natalie Hutchins: Local Government / Aboriginal Affairs / Industrial Relations

Jenny Mikakos: Familes and Children / Youth Affairs

Lisa Neville: Environment, Climate Change and Water

Wade Noonan: Police / Corrections

Martin Pakula: Attorney General / Racing

Fiona Richardson: Women / Prevention of Family Violence

Robin Scott: Finance / Multicultural Affairs

Adem Somyurek: Small Business, Innovation and Trade

Richard Wynne: Planning

Marlene Kairouz: Cabinet Secretary